2009 President's Awards

December 2, 2009 -

2009 President's Awards Gala Photos

Thursday, December 3, 2009

About 75 people attended the 2009 President's Award Gala at the Metropolitan Toronto Convention Center. The event was held in conjunction with the 2009 Construct Canada Trade Show and Conference. The Gala was opened by OBEC President Gerald R. Genge, President of GRG Building Consultants Inc., who described the changes to the event and presented the awards.

The new awards included the OBEC Award of Distinction for Materials, presented to Henry Company for Blueskin SA. Mr. Mark Tropper of Henry Company received the award and spoke on the history of the product and where the Blueskin brand was moving in the future.

The OBEC Award of Distinction for Design was presented to the AllStream Project, the renovation of the Automotive Building at the CNE in Toronto. Mr. David Clusiau of NORR Limited Architects and Engineers presented an entertaining and informative summary of the history of the building along with highlights of how the building envelope was upgraded and restored to its original splendor. Major participants and recipients of the Award of Distinction included:

NORR Limited, Architects, Engineers & Planners - David Clusiau
Allstream Centre - Arlene Campbell
Exhibition Place - Dianne Young
Vanbots, a division of Carillion Construction Inc. - Kevin McKay
Enermodal Engineering Limited - NORR accepted on behalf of Enermodal
Brook, Van Dalen & Associates Limited - NORR accepted on behalf of Brook, Van Dalen & Associates Limited
James Bailey Architect - James Bailey

The History of the "Beckie" describing the origin of the award and the design attributes presented by Brian Shedden Marketing Director and Senior Project Manager at GRG Building Consultants Inc. ascribed a lighter, yet accurate rendition to OBEC's highest honour. The Anthony A. Woods Award of Excellence was presented to Peter Halsall with an introduction by Mike VanDusen highlighting their personal and professional relationship. Also renewed this year is the member category of Fellow: The 2009 inductees to the category of OBEC Fellow are:

Paul Sandori, Revay and Associates Limited
Dale D. Kerr, GRG Building Consultants Inc.
Joe Sartor, Contec Building Science

Congratulations all and thank you to the companies that purchased tables:

NORR Limited Architects, Engineers & Planners
Vanbots a division of Carillion Construction Inc.
GRG Building Consultants Inc.
Trow Inc.
Halsall Associates Inc.

click on a thumbnail to view in full size